top of page
  • Law Global

Future Imagination: Law Graduates' Perspective

Updated: Oct 1, 2020



The Covid-19 Pandemic has greatly disrupted the routine of our lives. Without notice, our future plans and careers path are to be blurred by a fog that just won’t seem to go away. With that, this piece is dedicated to all law students and graduates out there.


In some ways, the pandemic has helped to push the development of legal technology in the Malaysian legal practice. In this sense, it is a huge win for the profession. However, it also elevated the level of stress and anxiety within the profession. The intense competition grew and tough decisions had to be made in a dime.


The Covid-19 Pandemic is no longer a health crisis. It is a social and political crisis and a catalyst for one of the worst economic recession in Malaysia. Evidently, the unemployment rate within the country rose to 5.3% in May. According to United Overseas Bank (M) Bhd, that rate is expected to be 4.5% as the year ends. However, many youth are worried of the disproportionate impact brought by the pandemic.


If you are going through a tough time, remember that you are not alone. We are all in this together. Going forward with that intention, we decided to share our thoughts on our journey in law school and our hopes and plans for the future.


If you like to see our faces, head on to our ‘Writers’ page to find out more about us! :)


Questions


1. What is your current position?


Wei Li:

I am currently a CLP student and will be sitting for my CLP examinations in December 2020. I have decided to focus on studies instead of working part-time, so that I can build a good foundation before I embark on legal practice.


Jie Sheng:

I just recently completed my BPTC examinations and am currently an intern at a Member of Parliament’s office in Malaysia.


Nathan Hew:

I am a CLP student preparing for my exams this upcoming December. Like Wei Li, I decided to stay put and focus on the exams as I had already undergone two legal internships prior to starting my CLP studies.


Lucas Low:

Currently I am a CLP candidate awaiting for the CLP exam this December. In the meantime, I am interning at a law firm to gain first-hand exposure in civil and commercial litigation.


2. What is your next plan after completing CLP/BPTC examinations?



Wei Li:

I plan to do legal internships while waiting for my CLP results. I will commence pupillage after passing the CLP. After completing my 9-month pupillage, hopefully I can be called to the Bar in Malaysia.


Jie Sheng:

I plan to commence pupillage in a law firm in Malaysia and hopefully be called to the Bar in Malaysia a year later.


Nathan Hew:

I will likely apply for both legal and non-legal internships. It also offers me an opportunity to take a short break before I decide on my future after my CLP examinations. You can never be too certain about your plans post CLP so the best bet is know your options and choose accordingly.


Lucas Low:

If by God willing, definitely my next plan is to have a few weeks retreat (either traveling or just staying at home depends on the status of the pandemic) before commencing my Pupillage career.


3. Please tell us about your path to the law.



Wei Li:

Frankly speaking, I never thought about studying law as a kid. When I was 16, I wanted to become a doctor so I chose Science Stream. After finishing secondary school, I realised I am good at languages, communication and social sciences by nature compared to Science. Strangely enough, History was my favourite subject and I enjoyed it the most. Then, I decided to study Arts subjects in A-levels and I aced my Business Studies.


I soon came across a Youtube video where Rt Hon Lord Judge said that

Reading the law is not just about the legal principles which if you have any humanity in your thought, you think about the people who are involved in the cases. When you are involved in the cases, you think about them and you reveal to yourself something of the human being you are yourself. Law is a much wider subject than just learning a few rules or a few statutes. Law is about people.”

Feeling inspired by his speech, I told myself that I could study Business Law or Medical Law in the future. I was excited to discover how the law fits together and how the law relates to other subjects, such as politics, economics, history, criminology, psychology and philosophy. I would still say that law is such a fascinating subject for me. I hope that one day I am able to bring positive impacts to people's lives.


Jie Sheng:

It may sound cliché but I think the law chose me. There were not much options that were there for me as I didn’t like calculations nor did I enjoy science subjects. I was a science student all the way up till A-Levels but I didn’t enjoy it as much. Law was somehow the perfect fit for me, I enjoy writing and reading, and talking about social issues since young and that’s where I ended up.


Nathan Hew:

I started my legal studies in BAC. I did my A-Levels in Business, Economics and Law and went on to do my UK Transfer Degree Program where I studied 2 years in Malaysia at BAC and 1 year in Belfast, Northern Ireland at Queen’s University Belfast. The whole process took me about 4 and half years to graduate.


Aside from that, I actually stumble upon the study of law by accident as I brought into the stereotype that law and history were the same (turns out they weren’t quite the same). Eventually, I grew comfortable studying the law and I am also mesmerized by the impact it has on people’s lives.


Lucas Low:

Frankly speaking, I decided to read law a month before I started my law degree. I used to struggle in selecting between various areas i.e. Accounting, Finance and Law. I performed better in accounting than law during my A-Levels exams (due to some personal problems which I find unnecessary to talk about).


Assuming if someone saw my A-Levels results, they would have recommended me to pursue accounting rather than studying law. However, at that point in time I treated law as the ‘lesser of two evils’ since both degrees are also considered ‘difficult’. I thought it would be more fulfilling and financially rewarding for me to read law.


Of course as time went by, I saw law as a career that is not only intellectually challenging but also incredibly fulfilling in a way that helped me to advance my personal development. It taught me how to be a better person and be a blessing to others in society.


4. What are your career alternatives or options if you do not want to practise law?



Wei Li:

I really hope that I can put my knowledge into practice and see how it works. However, as Stephen Colbert says, “no one has any idea what's going to happen. Not even Elon Musk. That's why he's building those rockets. He wants a 'Plan B' on another world.” I would say I do have a passion for research, so academia will be one of my career alternatives. I always enjoy doing research, analyse facts and issues and come to a sensible conclusion. Nevertheless, I would need to study an LLM or perhaps a PhD in law to pursue an academic career. I wouldn’t say either route is easier.


Jie Sheng:

I guess I would still be very into social activism, playing an active role in advocating for social issues in Non-Governmental Organizations or institutions. I would want to use the skills I learned through law school to at least make the world a better place than the one I was born into. I am not saying I can change everything (I know i'm no superhero), but if I can change and impact one life, that’s what I will do, one life at a time.


Nathan Hew:

The sad reality is that there is a real possibility of not passing CLP on the first try. At that point, we have to choose as to whether we still want to sit for the exams to continue to achieve our dreams of becoming a legal practitioner or rely on alternative career options.


Throughout my time in law school, I was involved in several journalistic and media ventures. In fact, I am still writing for an established legal blog during my CLP studies, especially during the Movement Control Order periods where classes were conducted online and we had a bit more time given that the Legal Profession Qualifying Board had not announced their exam dates.


So I might try out journalism, who knows? Like Wei Li, I also have a passion for research and compiling information to come to a conclusion so pursuing an LLM (God willing, abroad) is one of my dreams I hope to achieve. The sooner, the better.


Lucas Low:

That’s a really good question. It’s a question I often ask myself from time to time regardless of whether there is a global pandemic. I thought of trying something new or something that I am passionate about i.e. a Business start-up, becoming a Barista, tour-guide or more. I believe life is full of possibilities as well as uncertainties. I think resiliency, flexibility and willingness to learn, are the main keys which I will emphasize on if there comes any job opportunities.


5. What have you done to explore your interests in law?



Wei Li:

I participated in a virtual internship on Commercial Law where I have gained good knowledge on commercial law, M&A and due diligence. Currently, I am still exploring my interests and passion in law through reading legal articles and attending webinars. I find many articles written by lawyers and law firms in Malaysia are very useful for our CLP studies and future practice too.


Due to this pandemic, I have attended more than 5 virtual webinars and conferences organised by law firms, universities and other organisations. One of the most memorable and insightful events was the Conference on “Global Private-Public Law Approaches to the Covid-19 Pandemic”.


The Conference was organised by the Singapore Management University School of Law. Professors and legal experts from all around the world discussed their papers on Rule of Law, Public Law, International Law, International Trade and Corporate Law, the Law of Contract , Commercial Law and Litigation in extraordinary times. This Conference definitely broadened my horizons, especially in relation to development of law.


Indeed, I am grateful that legal knowledge has become more accessible during this pandemic. Hence, do keep an eye on upcoming webinars on LinkedIn or other social media.


Jie Sheng:

The important lesson that I learned through the years is it is not enough just to have interest. Interest is something we do only when it is convenient. I learned that to truly succeed, we need to change our interest into commitment and once we commit to the path that we want (be it law or otherwise), we do our very best to reach the end goal.


Personally, I find mini pupillages / internships and also marshalling in court a very good exposure to how the law operates. Being able to follow lawyers and judges around will make one thing very evident – as a lawyer you play an important role because your client’s liberty is in your hands and you have the ability to change a person’s life (they may lose a house, not meet their family again, or even go to jail because of what you do).


Nathan Hew:

I wasn’t born into a family of lawyers so my exposure to law in my early years was rather limited.

Having studied law in A-levels, I figured that I was comfortable reading the subject and that was my main motivation for studying it as a degree. I think your interest in law will grow as you start. To some people, it might come naturally and to others, it is just a matter of adapting to a new study or environment.


I agree with Jie Sheng. Having an interest in one thing but being passionate is another. Passion is what motivates you to wake up in the morning and take a challenge head on. It’s what builds resilience and perseverance which will help you to get the best results at the end of the day.


Lucas Low:

Throughout my degree life, I have learnt to take the initiative to reach out to people whether they are having the legal background or not. Listening to their testimony and advice definitely helps you to widen your perspectives on certain areas of law and/or strengthen your desire in pursuing your path of law. However, bear in mind that their opinions and views are always persuasive in nature. Take the responsibility to consider what works the best for you.


6. What are your aspirations (if any) for the legal industry?



Wei Li:

The legal profession is an honourable profession. It is dedicated to serve clients before self. The counsel also has an overriding duty to the court to serve public interest as an officer of the court in the administration of justice. Therefore, lawyers will undoubtedly play a part in improving the law and legal profession.


The law is also shaped by cultural shift and a lawyer is well positioned to play the role of an architect. I hope that the industry can maintain and advance its diversity and inclusion to have members from different race, gender and socio-economic backgrounds.


Nevertheless, sexual harassment in legal profession is still a problem in 2020. A 2019 survey by the International Bar Association (“IBA”) revealed that in Malaysia, only 17 per cent of respondents indicated that their workplace has existing policies to address sexual harassment matters. Thus, the Association of Women Lawyers calls upon the Bar Council and all law firms in Malaysia to implement and enforce internal policies and practices to eradicate sexual harassment in the workplace and to ensure that perpetrators are held accountable, and survivors are protected. It is hoped that these voices can be truly heard.


Jie Sheng:

There is this narrative especially in Malaysia that the law is the ‘game for the rich’ and that all lawyers do it for the money. Well, to a certain extent we are all in some way motivated by financial gains. There is not much that the community knows about the legal industry besides the common misconceptions. People think that lawyers will do whatever it takes to get their client off. People think that lawyers will use all means possible (including lying and taking money) to get their clients off the hook.


However, is it true? Well I certainly do not hope so. In theory, we learn that the industry is bound by certain professional obligations but where these misconceptions stem from is a mystery (at least for me). I hope that the legal scene in Malaysia can evolve into an area which is more accessible to those who can't even speak up for themselves. I hope that one day, the industry is seen as an honorable one where lawyers are seen as champions of people’s rights instead of liars that would do anything to get client’s off the hook.


Nathan Hew:

Following the words of Matthew Thomas Philip, I believe that law should be taught as a skills based degree rather than an Art degree. If legal education changes in this direction, it will impact the quality of graduates heading into the legal field. Honestly, that is my main aspiration for the legal industry.


I also hope that students are more aware of the impact the study of law has on their personal wellbeing. The law impacts and regulates the lives of those who are bound by it.


Lucas Low:

Personally, I believe the CLP examination needs to be reformed in the near future. Although it equips foreign graduates with the knowledge and understanding of the Malaysian Legal System, it places a heavy emphasis on memorization and regurgitation instead of the practical legal skills such as drafting, legal research, client interviewing, client management and more that are to be applied on a case to case basis.


That is why foreign graduates are willing to fork the extra sum of money to pursue the Bar Practice Course in the United Kingdom. Although expensive, the Course adequately equips one with the necessary practical legal skills.


Malaysia has discussed a possible implementation of the Common Bar Course which is meant to emulate the Common Bar Course and replace the CLP examinations. Till date, the CLP examination remains as a requirement for foreign graduates to become a qualified person in order to enter the Malaysian Legal Profession.


7. Lastly, any encouraging words to law students/graduates out there?



Wei Li:

I admit that it is not an easy task to keep the faith in ourselves especially during this difficult economic downturn. I shall quote one of my favourite songs by The Recklaws:

We all got more questions than answers, dreams too big to lose, sometimes you worry too much, Yeah I do too. ”

We don’t have all the answers because we can’t possibly know all the answers, and that’s a good thing. Even in frustrating times, not knowing the answers is part of the beautiful journey of life.


The famous Chinese proverb 'a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step' puts forward the notion that, however difficult a task is, you can only complete it if you first start it!

I do believe that nothing worth having comes easy. Challenges and mistakes are what create the opportunities to put positive momentum, growth and success into place.


More importantly, in worrying about making our lives successful, we forget that experiencing life, being mindful of the present and enjoying little moments is actually what constitutes a successful life. Self-love is equally important too. As Avril Lavigne sings it, let me feel young when I'm older, let me feel proud when it's over. You define your own success!


Jie Sheng:

This pandemic has undoubtedly messed everything up, but there is no point whining about what is out of our control because it wouldn’t change anything. Ask yourself, what are the things within my control that I can do and you will get your answer. There are so many opportunities that arose because of the pandemic, be it virtual internships, online webinars, free access to learning resources and so many more.


Why is it that you started reading law – if your answer is something that you are really passionate about – I don’t think a pandemic can stop you from reaching your goals. You are stronger and more resilient than you think!


Nathan Hew:

Covid-19 has been difficult on all of us. One thing to keep in mind is that humans have the ability to stay resilient in the most difficult times. That is why mankind has come to this race in their existence.


A cliché advice that many deem overrated is that a law degree can get anywhere. That statement is true provided that you have the ability to know your options and what you can actually do with your law degree. With that said, there are plenty of options for law graduates to dive in. For me, that was legal writing. Having that in mind, it calmed down and reduced my anxiety in preparing for CLP.


In terms of maintaining my cool during this difficult economic recession, I would say I keep myself preoccupied with my hobbies and studies. It also helps when you have friends to confide in. So long as you pace yourself and take every experience as a learning curve, you will be fine!


Lucas Low:

I believe this is a tough moment for every law student or graduate struggling with the uncertainties. My sincere advice is that:-


  1. Always ask yourself the purpose of your life from time to time;

  2. It’s okay to be normal; embrace every piece of you (whether it’s good or bad)

  3. Feel free to reach out to your peers/family/friends for seeking any advice whether in relation to personal, career, or any other issue.

As Mark Manson says, who you are is defined by what you are willing to struggle for!




 

We hope this article helped to reduce the anxiety that you are facing in this difficult moment. From all of us at Law Global, we wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Keep holding on, hopefully we can make it through. Good luck!


This article was co-authored by Wei Li, Jie Sheng, Nathan Hew and Lucas Low.





166 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page